Do Not Answer These Questions After an Alaska Car Accident


As an Alaska motorist, you know that state law requires you to carry auto insurance in accordance with minimum levels, and that you could be subject to a driver’s license suspension for noncompliance. The Alaska Division of Motor Vehiclesestablishes insurance minimums of $50,000 per person for bodily injury, $100,000 per accident, and $25,000 for property damage. However, what you may not realize is how insurance is involved if you are injured in a car accident. In short, your first step in the legal process is filing a claim with the at-fault driver’s insurance company. If approved, you could receive payment for your losses right away.


Unfortunately, the process is rarely that straightforward. When it is, you might be obtaining less compensation than you deserve. Before an insurer pays out funds, the company’s claims adjuster will conduct an exhaustive investigation. When the probe turns to you, it is critical that you handle the situation appropriately. You support the efforts of your Anchorage auto crash lawyer when you know how to field questions from the insurance company. Oftentimes its best to refer questions directly to your attorney.


Who was at fault in causing the collision?

Rather than a search for truth, the goal of the claims adjuster is to find reasons NOT to pay. If the insurer has information showing that its own policyholder was not at fault, the company has grounds to deny your claim. Refer these questions to your attorney.


How did the car accident happen?

This inquiry is another way of asking who was responsible for causing the crash. Even if you do provide details on how the other driver was at fault, you could make statements revealing that you were also negligent. Under Alaska’s contributory negligence law, your compensation will be reduced. Again, its best to refer these questions to a car crash attorney.


What are your injuries?

First, you are not a doctor and should not comment on the nature of your injuries. Second, you could still be receiving treatment and answering this question is premature. The insurance company will eventually have access to your medical records, at which point the documents, together with your Anchorage lawyer’s arguments, may speak for themselves.


Three Questions You CAN Answer 

  • Can you confirm your contact information? The insurance company will need these details to proceed with your claim.
  • Will you sign a release? You can answer this question, but only with a firm NO. Under no circumstances should you sign any document without first consulting with a lawyer.
  • Do you have an attorney representing you? The only appropriate answer to this question is YES, followed by “I have” or “I will.” It is a mistake to represent yourself in dealing with an insurance company whose interests are the exact opposite of your own.


You Can Rely on an Alaska Car Accident Attorney for Help

This information about questions to not answer after an auto crash should help you initially, but it is crucial to get a skilled lawyer involved with your case as early on in the legal process as possible. To learn how we can help, please contact Power & Power Law to schedule a no-cost consultation at our Anchorage office.