Myths About Uber and Lyft Accidents in Alaska


Many residents of Anchorage and people throughout Alaska rejoiced when the Anchorage Daily News announced that Uber, Lyft, and other ridesharing companies would be coming to the Last Frontier back in June of 2017. These “transportation network companies” (TNC) are convenient and affordable, which means everything when you are trying to get around quickly without the need to park. They are also accessible to anyone with a cell phone, with just a few clicks necessary to download the mobile app.

However, what many people overlook when taking advantage of ridesharing services is that there is still a risk of being injured in car collisions. You do have rights as an injured victim, but the legal process is somewhat different when an Uber or Lyft driver is at the wheel. An Alaska motor vehicle accidents attorney can explain in more detail, but it is important to debunk some of the myths about these collisions.


Myth #1: Uber and Lyft collisions are completely separate from other auto crash claims. To the contrary, these accidents are similar to other motor vehicle collisions from a liability standpoint. You need to prove that the incident occurred because the at-fault motorist breached the legal duty to drive safely. This person may be your TNC driver, but it could also be another motorist who was negligent and crashed into you.


Myth #2: Insurance laws do not cover rideshare accidents. Alaska statutes and regulations on insurance include specific provisions on Uber and Lyft, as separate from the $50,000 bodily injury per person and $100,000 per accident minimums. The reason is that traditional insurance policies do not cover insureds who “drive for hire.” To fill the gap, TNCs provide liability coverage – up to $1 million for bodily injury and property damage.


Myth #3: It does not matter whether an Uber or Lyft driver is logged into the app. You should note a very important point when it comes to insurance and the ridesharing service app: Coverage from the TNC insurance policy only kicks in when the Uber/Lyft driver is logged in and using the mobile app. Therefore, you are covered if you are injured as:

  • A rideshare passenger;
  • The driver of another car struck by the at-fault Uber/Lyft driver; or,
  • A passenger in a vehicle hit by a negligent TNC driver.


Myth #4: Rideshare accident laws do not impact bicycle riders and pedestrians. As long as the Uber or Lyft driver is logged into the app, anyone injured by his or her negligent acts can recover compensation for their losses.


Myth #5: I do not need an Alaska auto crash lawyer to represent me. You might assume that filing an Uber or Lyft insurance claim is straightforward, but keep in mind that insurers aim to pay out no settlement or as little as possible to you. As such, you need skilled legal counsel on your side to protect your rights. For more information, please contact Power & Power Law. We can set up a no-cost consultation to learn more about your situation and advise you on your legal options.